SCFA BALLOT 2013

To the Members of the Santa Cruz Faculty Association:

It is time vote on proposed dues changes and to renew the SCFA Board with elections!

Dues Restructuring and amendment to the SCFA Bylaws:

The SCFA previously sent a notice to the membership introducing a new dues structure which would include a \$10./per month first year introductory fee for all faculty regardless of status. We also reduced the monthly fees for Assistant Professors from \$17/per month to \$10/per month. We are now asking the membership to approve this change.

In order to avoid this confusion in the future, we also ask that you approve the following change in our bylaws to allow the Board to change the dues amounts when we feel that it is appropriate without putting the matter to a vote of the membership.

Section 1.

Dues, graduated by faculty rank, shall be established by the Board subject to approval by a majority of members casting valid votes in a mail ballot. Changes in dues must be approved by a majority of members casting valid votes in a mail ballot. The Board shall develop a comparable and equitable dues structure to cover persons holding other titles, members on leave, and other special categories.

Proposed change:

Section 1. The dues shall be graduated by faculty rank on a twelve-month basis at the rates set by the Board for Assistant, Associate, Full, and Emeriti Professors. The Board may develop a comparable and equitable dues structure to cover persons holding other titles, members on leave, and other special categories. Assessments shall be at the discretion of the Board.

We are now putting these two matters to the membership for a vote. If you oppose either the change in the dues structure or the amendment change, please advise us by responding to this email before the close of the election on .

Election Notice:

First, we wish first to thank Regina Langhout and Andrew Matthews, who have contributed their attention and wisdom to further the broad interests of UCSC Senate Faculty through the activities of the SCFA.

The SCFA Executive Board consists of a minimum of seven and up to eleven members, who serve staggered two year terms. Elections are held in the spring of each academic year. In accordance with SCFA bylaws, a nominating committee has selected the following slate of candidates to fill SCFA board positions. Thank you very much to the nominating committee Megan Thomas, Elizabeth Abrams and Avril Thorne.

Four continuing members of the Executive Board are: Shelly Errington, Joel Primack, Cindy Cruz, and Elizabeth Stephens (who will return in the fall to continue her term after having been on sabatical this year).

The Nominating Committee proposes the following four SCFA members to serve on the Executive Board of the Santa Cruz Faculty Association for two-year terms covering the 2013-2014 academic years, beginning Sept 30, 2013. Two current members of the Executive Board, Ben Carson and Ben Crow, have agreed to serve a new term if re-elected. Two new Board members, Chris Connery and Ronnie Lipschutz, will join us for two year terms if approved by the membership.

THE NOMINEES:

- 1. Ben Carson
- 2. Ben Crow
- 3. Chris Connery
- 4. Ronnie Lipshutz

Other nominations of members who have been in good standing as of April 1, 2013 may be made upon petition to the Secretary of the Association. We urge you to allow the committee to consider you, or another qualified colleague you may identify, as a potential nominee for the SCFA Board. Petitions must be delivered on or before June 3, 2013 to the Santa Cruz Faculty Association, at scfa.assist@gmail.com. If no nominations are submitted, the slate shall be accepted as elected.

From the SCFA Executive Board